Things I’m OK With: A Potential End to American Apparel

If there’s one thing I’m sick of hearing, it’s the excuses from American Apparel fans as to why they had to spend $20 on a plain T-shirt. “They’re sooo comfy.” “They last forevvvvver.” “It’s muccccccch higher quality.” I’m a certified brandwhorrrrrre.”

via the insider

A jersey T-shirt is a jersey T-shirt is a jersey T-shirt. I get it — American Apparel makes some damn comfy T-shirts/other crap. But so do other places that charge less. I mean, I can rant ’til I’m blue in the face, but the fact of the matter is, the hipster mecca might be in danger of crumbling. The company reported a $17.6 million loss for the first quarter of 2010. Looks like jersey fabric and metallic spandex isn’t recession-proof.

But, people, it’s going to be all right! It’s time to explore other places to buy boring and/or strange crap! Expand our horizons! There are other stores on Melrose, I promise! So take a last tour around the ol’ hipster palace, and then step outside, into the light, and then turn way or another and start walking. You’re bound to find a jersey T-shirt or two somewhere.

-MM

Contact the author at mmthesmogger@gmail.com.

Bookmark and Share Follow us on Twitter or be our fan on Facebook.

One response to “Things I’m OK With: A Potential End to American Apparel

  1. AMEN!!!!!

Leave a Reply

